The New Theatre

image

In Dublin there are a lot more theatres than you might think at first glance
There are a few big ones with extended runs of big budget shows, some fantastic, some middling. But there are plenty of smaller ones with a wide variety of limited run shows. This is one of my favourites, a theatre behind a bookshop, what’s not to like? Well the bookshop is a curiosity itself, a communist bookshop, you can read about it here. While I wouldn’t be in agreement with many of the far left politics, it does stock a lot of material relating to different social issues, often not found elsewhere. And the theatre also usually shows ‘issue’ plays, though that’s sometimes more obvious than others. (Also, as my cousin pointed out, some very graphic versions of Irish legends, which seem to be children’s books, but on a closer look might be a bit too violent!).
We went to see a play called ‘Returning to Haifa’. Since I’m no good at reviewing I’ll link to the Irish Times review. It was very interesting and, not that I’d read up on it much in advance, but not what I expected. I was a bit worried that it would be very one sided, but I found it quite even. There were no winners on stage. (Also, why are my fictional namesakes always middle aged or elderly Jewish women?)
There was a discussion afterwards and I’m sure it would have been interesting, but my cousin is off to Peru and we wanted to catch up.
On the book side of things, she has recommended Elena Ferrante, so I must check her out.
I’m nearly finished Dublinesque, really enjoying it, I’ll try to write some more when I’m done. However, considering it’s so strongly influenced by Joyce I was reminded of the first line of Finnegan’s Wake (not that I have read this or Ulysses):
riverrun, past Eve and Adam’s, from swerve of shore to bend of bay
and realised that this must be referring to the church I wrote about a few days ago when I started reading Dublinesque. Literature is everywhere here, especially with the help of Joyce.
I have read Dubliners at least. And if you haven’t, you should. It’s 100 years old this year. Not that that’s the reason,  you just need to read it because it’s so good.

Leave a Reply

