Christmas shopping

image

When I was growing up we always did our Christmas shopping on the northside, Henry St, O’Connell St. We wouldn’t dream of shopping on the southside, way too expensive. But every year at some stage we would make the journey across to Grafton St. to look at Switzer’s windows.
A long time ago Switzer’s closed and Brown Thomas moved in. They still make the effort to decorate the windows for Christmas, if in a less traditional way. They’re beautiful but I don’t know if parents would still bring their kids to see them.

image

Arnott’s on the other hand, they seem to be decorating their windows in a way that is nostalgic for those times of parents bringing kids to look at the Christmas windows, even though I can’t say I ever noticed them too much back then. Maybe I was too excited to go and see their Santa!

Anyway, book club Christmas party tonight. I hope I don’t get shot for having chosen ‘Spider’s Web’. It was an interesting book, but unfinished, it just stops in the middle of nowhere. I hate that!

1 thought on “Christmas shopping

Leave a comment